Define Joy, If You Can

What does joy mean to you?

Is it a feeling? How do you know when you’re experiencing it?

For me, joy is often a quiet inner knowing; a feeling that bubbles up from deep within and expands until it bursts out all around me. The whole world seems brighter and lighter in that moment and I feel like I’m being carried on the wind.

Sometimes I experience joy in certain places, or with specific people. Other times, it comes upon me unexpectedly. I find it’s elusive, hard to define, yet unmistakable when it arrives.

What brings you joy?

sailing

Flying across the water, wind in the sails … that’s joy!

2 thoughts on “Define Joy, If You Can

  1. The peace and beauty of the world around me when I am not rushing about thinking of other things. Be it a thunderstorm, a sunny day or a beautiful winter day, the serene look of a grandchild quietly colouring or figuring something out, it does not matter and as you said, you never know when it is going to hit you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

